Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To begin with, this argument is logically flawed in numerous ways. It puts forward the belief that an old, unjustified instance is likely to hold true in the modern world as well.

This argument is completely based on an assumption rather than a fact.

Firstly, the argument does not provide detail on what constitutes the paleo diet followed by early humans and instead provides the reader with only one example.

The bone broth being the only example provided, does not give the reader an elaborate idea on exactly what other dishes the paleo diets consist of. Had the author provided adequate information about the paleo diets, it would be easier to compare

paleo diets with other forms of diets.

In addition to this, the author's idea is completely dependant upon an assumption that is not backed up by any scientific evidence. The author states that proponents claim our bodies have evolved to consume paleo diets. This statement is not convincing as the author does not support it with any factual evidence. The author also provides examples of the many health-promoting benefits of paleo diets completely based on the belief of the proponents which is again supported by no form of evidence. If the author had backed up the statements with real scientific evidence, the arguments would be credible.

Lastly, the author concludes that ancient humans knew something about the human physiology that the current population is unaware of. The author bases this statement on unjustified anecdotal evidence and assumes that consuming paleo diets made early humans healthier then and will also cure the current population of many chronic illnesses.

Hence, this argument is severely flawed as proved above and cannot be agreed with unless provided with some actual evidence.