As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

In today's fast-paced world we are quite well acquainted with the idea of technology. People belonging to various age groups make use of smartphones, smart TVs, microwaves and the works. This age could be termed as the "smart age".What we do not realize is how dependent we have become on these devices which were once not available to the average person. This put the thought up for debate whether this dependence is detrimental to our intellect. No doubt, that using technology has made our life so easy that we do not have to rack our brains against problems that once required hours of efforts and thinking, but terming this as a source of "deterioration to our intellect" would be too strong a phase.

Calculators have become a common instrument used in work and studying. Before they were invented, people calculated major mathematical queries by hand. After the development of the hand held devices, people can now concentrate on tasks that require more of their attention. For example a cashier no longer has to keep adding or subtracting the amount debited or credited by hand and has made it easier for him to concentrate on bigger problems like how the stock has to managed.This reduces the error that he could have made if he had done them manually. This does not necessarily mean that his thinking capability has decreased, rather he can focus on critical problems.

The invention of the airplane is another such example. The main thought process of the Wright brothers behind the building of the world's first airplane was to create an instrument that could fly as well as carry people in it for a large distance. Over the years, as the mechanisms improved, the major question remained about how the design of the plane could be ameliorated to ensure safety of its passengers. This led to scientists to put in efforts and bring about changes that would prove to a major development in aeronautics.

Technology advancements and its frailty go hand in hand. In the recent issue of the major data leak of Facebook, Mark Zuckerburg was faced with a massive problem at hand. Data of billions of people who had an account on the social media platform was leaked.This data could be accessed by unauthorized people and posed as a major threat to privacy. Zuckerburg along with his team and creative workers came up with measures that could solve this issue. If not for this social media, humans would not have been exposed to such a kind of problem. When such problems surface, humans are compelled to take steps to think and to create their corresponding solutions.

In conclusion, these examples weaken the argument that just because humans have started to rely more on technology and life has become easier in some aspects, humans will lose their ability to think for themselves. This can be said because the more technology advances, more are we exposed to newer problems that would not arise if such advancements had never been made.