People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The behavior of an individual is closely linked to the environment in which he lives. This includes the kind of people he interacts with on a daily basis. It also depends upon his past endeavors and experiences. Sometimes even the kind of job he does plays a major role in shaping of one's behavioral as well as thinking patterns.

To further elaborate, consider an example of John who is naturally sensitive by nature. He tends to be more emotional than the majority of friends that he is surrounded with. If the majority John's friends a group of thieves, it is very likely that that he too will be swayed towards stealing which was against his nature in the first place. Instead, is John had been friends with a group of scholars, he would likely would be inclined towards pursuing a degree. This perfectly demonstrates the saying " A man is known by the company he keeps".

Moreover, the kind of surrounding a person is born in also affects how he grows up as an individual. A child that is born in a house which is prone to domestic violence towards the mother by the father, the child grows up to be traumatized by every male figure that he encounters. It might be arduous for the child to interact with a male figure later in his life too. On the other hand, the same child could think that the kind of behaviors that the father portrays is correct an ill-treating one's spouse is natural. This dogma can affect his or her own relationships.

But it might not always be the case with every individual, as each human being is wired differently. If a person has a strong sense of conscience and self control, he can control how he reacts to the variety of things that take place around him. Taking the same example of John, if he is determined not to be inclined towards stealing and has a good sense of control over himself he can still be friends with those people without it interfering with the values he was brought up with. Moreover, the child who was traumatized by his father's behavior would take it as a lesson to now walk in the footsteps of his father but take steps that would gain him a healthy relationship with his spouse.

People's behavior are without a doubt affects by factors that a person can not control by themselves. But how a person takes up these challenges depends entirely on whether he turns it into a positive outcome or a negative one.