The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the letter states that in reponse to the increase in the population of the Balmer Island during summer months, there should be limits on the number of mopeds that each company on the island puts for rentals.

This argument can not be fulley accepted as it is rifes with unstated assumptions, which if proen untrue could break apart the argument easily.

For starters, the author assumes that the poplation increase during the months of summer the popluation of the island increases. He does not give information about what causes the rise in number of people during those specific months. It could be possible that the population increase on the Balmer Island is a result of increase in tousrims due to these particular months. Maybe the climate of the Island could be ideal for tourists to flock in these months. Many tourists like to divulge into a local experience and wish to travel locally. If a ban on the number of mopeds that can be rented is sanctioned, the tourist economy would face a huge loss.

Moreover, the author compares the decision to implement the change in number of mopeds by comparing it with the limits put on by the government of a neighbouring island of Torseau. There is no evidence to prove that there is any correlation between the increase in the populations of the two islands. Infact, the author simply assumes that just because the island of Torseau experienced a decrease in the number of accidents involving mopeds, the same result will be seen as in the case of Balmer Islands.

Thirdly, it could also be possible that the decrease in number of accidents involving mopeds in Torseau could be factors supplementing the limits on number of mopeds that can be rented. The factors could involve amlieorating the conditions of roads on the island so that it becomes safer for travelling. It could also mean the quality of mopeds that are been manufactured has improved significantly. The reason for prohibiting rentals above a certain number could be because it would take time for companies to improve the quality of all mopeds and till then they can only rent out mopeds that they have altered already. After a sufficient number of mopeds have been altered the limits would be alleviated.

Conclusively, it would not be wise to impose limits on the number of mopeds that can be rented on Balmer Island owing to the letter recieved by the editor of Balmer island Gazette. This is because a number of assumptions that are not stated are taken to be true by the author. If the government decides to ahead with the suggestion provided by the author without putting a lot of thought, it could result into undesirable consequences.