Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how the Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could only be used for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this development, collectors should expect the life-size sculptures to decrease in value and the miniatures to increase in value.

The author argues that the recent archaeological discovery ofmolds of human hands and heads suffice for the collectors to conclude that the value oflife size sculptures will diminish as the value of miniatures increase. This argument is based on the assumption that since these miniatures differ in style and also that their creation was not done using molds but were tailor made. Even though the argument is sound, but does not seem compelling enough to be held as true as it is based on unstated arguments.

Firstly, it has been widely assumed that all life-size sculptures are made using the recently discovered molds, even though there is no solid evidence that no other method was used in creating these sculptures. It could be possible that only certain sculptures were created using these molds. No correlation between the number of life-size sculptures and number of molds has been stated.

The author also states that the miniatures differ with respect to life-size sculptures as far as size was concerned. He amounts this to the usage of molds used in making the larger sculptures. But it also could be possible that the style differs due to the reason that the Kalinese artists would simply have a different approach of making the miniatures, perhaps adding more details. Moreover, the notion that molds could only be used for life-size sculptures could also be proved wrong if more molds smaller in size, would be discovered. This could mean that even miniatures could be made using molds.

Thirdly, the low number of Kalinese sculpting tools that have been discovered could also mean that the rocks found on Kali island were softer as compared to other rocks that are used for sculpting and could fracture if are struck extensively. Hence more number of tools may not be required to carry out work. This does not mean the production of sculptures were solely dependent on molds.

Conclusively, the argument put forth by the author is not cogent enough to prove that if the value of miniatures keep on soaring, the value of life-size sculpptures will be diminished.