As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is viewed both as a boon and as a bane. The reason why it is considered a boon is self-evident from the fact that it makes life easy and comfortable. But the reason people consider technology a bane is because people feel that technology would lead to people becoming lazy, and forgo their natural skills in exchange for technological assistance. Although such an argument ostensibly makes sense, as the more we rely on technology, the less incentive we have to do the same work. But we forget the fact we don't have to do every single thing, and it is perfectly reasonably to pass on the mundane everyday tasks to machines.

First of all, an important factor to consider is that the entire human civilization is depended on technological advancement, and delegation of duties to technology. There was a time when human had nothing to rely on but themselves, and fend itself from the natural elements. Inherently, humans did not posses a huge natural advantage compared to the other creatures that roamed about the earth during that period. The way our ancestors were able to survive is my continously innovating, and tilting things to their advantage using technology. The invention of wheel, the discovery of fire, the start of agriculture and others are all technological advancements that led to a better life. Although it can still be argued that some of the earlier skills like hunting and gathering would deteriorate, it has been replaced by something better, and humans now have the spare time to focus on innovating new areas.

For example, take the personal computer. There is no question that computers makes life much easier by allowing computations, running programs that serve a wide array of purposes, organizing data and information among other things. One argument that is raised against computers is that it makes people lazy and, and the basic calculations that people did earlier is no longer done in their mind, but processed via a computer, promoting indolence. From the synthesis of music to complex calculations on the trajectory of extraterrestrial objects, computers have to an extend substituted human effort. But again, computers are not taking detracting anything, it is complementing the natural human talent. Thus technology is making us better than who we are without it, by complementing our deficiencies.

Another example is the readily available smart phones. It has further decreased the distance between human and computer, by letting us carry around the computational facility in our pockets. This has complemented humans in a sense that humans have become cyborgs. The human-mobile cyborg vastly increases the basic human endowment of memory with the smart phones memory, knowledge with the ease of access to an inexhaustable amount of knowledge available on the internet, and computational skill by having different apps assisting in different areas of communication.

In conclusion, it is clear that technology either replaces tasks that are mundane so that humans can better utilize their time for more fruitful endevors, or complements their abilities to make them much more efficient than they really are. Thus it is unfair to say that technology is just detracting our skill, and we must embrace newer and better technology that makes life easier, more convenient, and helps us be better versions of ourselves.