As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It's no surprise that advancement in technology has made humans lazy and dependent. However, that's the main point - "lazy" - not stupid. Technology has improved at an alarming rate in the past century. We now have the level of advancement that was mere vision a few years back. But, the advancement has also pushed humans to think more rather than less. Space machines provide with unimaginable pictures of the galaxy which couldn't have been possible without the high-tech satellite orbiting the earth. However, the interpretations that space researchers have drawn from it is the evidence of radical thinking on the part of humans. It is true that technology has helped humans to skillfully dodge the mundane tasks of remembering phone numbers or partaking in simple mathematical calculations. These tasks pertain to memory, rather than the ability of humans to think.

The mere fact that new technology comes into existence every single day from some nook and cranny of the world is further proof that humans are no short of thinking up ideas. A car powered by energy rather than gas, Artificial Intelligence, advanced medical devices are just some of the examples where humans have used their thinking and intelligence to accomplish tasks that are impossible for even computers.

Technology. in fact, frees up huge amount of time for humans so they can focus and use their time for more critical tasks. Critical reasoning and logical thinking have been enhanced. Writers have more time now to think about and come up with interesting ploys for various fictional as well as non-fictional books that they write. They can simply upload their writings on the internet as it reaches thousands of masses in mere seconds. Previously writers had the concerns of physical marketing and distribution of their writings. This has however, increased plagiarism but also the modes of detecting plagiarism.

Technology is a tool for enhanced thinking. It can transfer information whenever and wherever required, and humans can access it. Educational institutes nowadays make use of visual technology over the more traditional ways of teaching. This allows students to work more efficiently. When technology is further advanced it makes lives of the human civilization easier but also gives rise to various technological errors. This render humans responsible in rectifying those errors. Ability of thinking of humans haven't failed them in this respect.

In fact, technology has made it possible for me to be here, writing this essay without having to worry about the amount of time left or the number of words I've noted down. The rigorous effort that multiple students must have put into their preparation has undoubtedly enhanced their overall thinking. Technology is pushing us to thinking more, not less.