As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

As technology is advancing day by day, it affects human beings in every facet of life inevitably. The omnipresent technology not only affects human beings perfunctorily but also has collateral effects. Considering this omnipotent effect, it is high time to justify the actual benefits. The prompt recommends that the effect of technology on human cognitive processes is detrimental as they become increasingly dependent on it. In my point of view, I strongly agree with this suggestion and opine that people should be cautious about the overuse of technology for two reasons.

To begin with, relying too heavily on technology can hinder the normal cognitive process. This is particularly significant in areas such as memory, problem-solving, decision-making, and even language learning. For instance, now a day the delayed speech development in toddlers is a very common phenomenon, and there is a substantial body of research supporting this claim, along with the underlying reasons. Psychologists argue that the language learning process is one of the most complex functions of the rational parts of the brain. This process can be impeded by excessive exposure to one-way information if toddlers have access to gadgets like mobile phones and watch too many videos on YouTube or similar apps. The overwhelming amount of information does not allow sufficient time for cognitive development and the formation of necessary responses. As a result, the complex process of language learning for toddlers can become hindered.

Furthermore, easy access to information leads to passive consumption without critical analysis. We can become overwhelmed by the abundance of information available through search engines like Google or more advanced AI systems like Chat GPT. Genetically, we are not predisposed to exerting effort in thinking critically when we are provided with readily available information. This ultimately hampers our ability to think independently and make informed judgments.

Of course, many may argue and point out the numerous advantages of technology that have shaped human civilization, especially considering that it is unimaginable to envision life on Earth without it. However, the alluring effects of technology can have negative consequences on human civilization in the long run. After all, we wouldn't want a totalitarian civilization controlled by artificial intelligence where humans become slaves and lose their ability to critically evaluate how to liberate themselves from such contrivances.