In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and /or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The city government has been suggested to increase the amount of money in this year's budget for riverside recreational facilities, so that they can clean up the Mason River for water sports purposes. The author has reached this conclusion based on surveys conducted among the residents of Mason City, as well as complaints about the low water quality and odor made by the residents. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

To begin with, does cleaning alone ensure the full utilization of the river? In other words, can cleaning alone be considered the primary factor outweighing other surrounding factors when it comes to promoting the use of the river for recreational facilities? It is possible that Mason City has other water bodies that are already operational for water sports, and residents may be accustomed to using those for their recreational activities. Furthermore, cleaning alone cannot guarantee the permanent removal of low water quality and odor. There could be situations where sewage pipes are connected to the river, or riverside residents may continue to dump garbage into the water. In any of these cases, cleaning would only provide a temporary solution. If any of these scenarios hold true, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In addition to this, will the additional funds be utilized properly for the cleaning purpose? The authors in the argument make a premature assumption that simply increasing the budget and allocating it towards cleaning will solve everything. However, this may not necessarily be the case. There could be a lack of a proper plan, insufficient expertise, or even a shortage of honest employees to handle the funds effectively. If any of these situations are true, then the argument does not hold water.

After that, was the conclusion based on a rational survey? The author assumed that Mason City residents selected several water sports as their favorite hobbies in surveys. However, there is no information provided about the percentage of the data size, sample size, or the number of residents who participated in the survey. It is possible that only a minimal percentage of the local population mentioned water sports as their favorite leisure activities. In light of these facts, an increase in the budget amount may not benefit the entire community, weakening the conclusion in the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flowed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three question above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the purposed recommendation to add the money to this year’s budget.