As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of

humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain

your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your

position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not

hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are innumerable applications of technology and I am sure this number is only increasing. The ubiquitous nature of technology has improved many lives and over the years the technology industry has boomed like never before. I mostly disagree to the statement that a human’s ability to think for themselves deteriorates upon relying on tech products. There are two main reasons why I believe so, however there I do concede by mentioning that there are a few ramifications to overusing technology.

To begin with, technology seems to be a gamechanger for mankind because it helps in reducing the time used for mundane, manual labour. If my grandmother had to choose between a mixer grinder and a rock pestel to grind a fine powder, she would undoubtedly choose the grinder for her work. Similarly, the common mode of communication through hand-held letters saw a massive change when people started communicating through phones and emails. There are several other areas that we see today which made an impeccable difference with the intervention of technology.

Secondly, there are several things we as humans found impossible to do until we were proven wrong. Technology seems to have helped many because it has enabled and empowered us to do things which we previously thought was never possible. From taking us to the moon to obviating the way for robotic surgeries, it has mostly been a boon. Scientists and inventers have been instrumental in making the mind-boggling discoveries which changed the world for good.

However, I do concede that with the heavy dependency on technology that is being observed lately, it is conclusive that it has a way of snatching one’s time and energy without one’s knowing. Through the adrenaline rushes and dopamine hits that one receives through doom-scrolling and chaotic video games, it points to the truth that it could negatively affect kids and adults alike.

To conclude, there are two main reasons why I strongly disagree that the use of technology won’t deprive humans of their creativity. However I also admit that it could have it’s negative affects which we need to be careful about as active users and consumers of technology products.