As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since the past century, the way we think and behave has changed significantly due to the introduction of technology in our daily lives. We are able to commute long distances, can now talk to someone from other parts of the world anytime and are able to access unimaginable amounts of knowledge which otherwise would not have been possible before the technological revolution. Since the advent of technology, there has been a major debate on whether technology is inhibiting human thinking skills. Technology has made us lazier but not dumber. We are now able to access huge amounts of information on a daily basis all because of technology. It is true that technology has provided a lot of comforts in ease of doing various activities due to which our body may be deteriorating but not the mind.

Technology itself requires strong knowledge and thinking skills to build it. And day by day new complex inventions are coming up which prove human capacity to think out of the box and achieve the unachievable. Who would have thought that we could see the pictures of black holes, it was thought only to exist in theories but technology helped us to see it and bring it to reality. If we look back just a few centuries ago, there used to be debates around whether the earth revolves sun or the sun revolves around the earth and now we are capable enough to not only explore our own solar systems but also other galaxies. Technologies have provided us with immense capabilities to process information and to build more complex systems on that. This only has been possible with great human thinking capabilities and technological advancements.

Students now from any part of the world are able to learn and synthesize knowledge from universities such as MIT and Harvard. This has helped students to access information which without technology would not have been possible. Children of very small age now have knowledge about movies, scientific facts, astronomy or even solving complex computer programming problems as compared to kids from previous centuries who would not have had this much knowledge at such an early age this shows us how well humans think and knowledge processing skills have improved all because of technology which has provided us with immense amount of resources.

Some people argue that technology has made people more dependent on them and now humans rely on technology to find solutions rather than looking for answers by themselves. From using calculators to do a simple calculation to using the internet to search for simple queries it shows that humans' thinking capabilities and skills to draw solution on their own has deteriorated. This is not true, Well technologies have surely made us more dependent on them and we do use them for simple tasks but this has made us use that time to invest in other important tasks rather than doing redundant calculations and also using these technologies to solve simple calculation we are now able to solve big and complex problems. Technology has surely made us lazier but does not inhibit our thinking skills in any scope.