As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The view says as technologies rapidly develop, people will lose their thinking abilities. This assertion is somewhat true since some basic thinking has indeed decreased. However, I believe core intellectual abilities such as a learning ability and reasoning skills are enhanced even faster, and we should conclude advanced technologies improve our thinking power.

Thinking abilities related to simple repetition seem to be really deteriorated nowadays. This is because people do not need to use those abilities any more in daily life. At work, employees use not only calendar softwares to consider all company schedules, but also computers to save contacts of companies for which they work. Furthermore, people usually leverage Excel to manage their financial status. While cooking, no house wife and house husband memorize all recipes since they can search for them anytime they want. This is, people fully exploit technologies to handle basic and simple tasks, in above cases, like calculating and memorizing. This truly causes decreasing human’s abilities of those kinds.

However, does this mean that all intellectual abilities have been ebbed? I believe it is not true and thinking power has risen at this technology period. Take into account the learning ability first. As technologies have developed, humans need to learn more and more to cover these technologies. In elementary school, students should learn algorithms and skills to use a computer like Excel and Powerpoint. Moreover, social science departments require their students to study coding mandatory, which never happened 5 years ago. Workers’ situation is the same; they have to spend their time learning new technologies such as AI.

More powerful reasoning abilities are also required in this high technology society due to hyper connections emerged by advanced communication and transport. When a typhoon occurs in South America, the price of fruit in Japan would surge, and if an earthquake hit Taiwan, the factories of Samsung in Korea might have to halt at a moment. Hence, workers who are responsible for supply management have to consider other nations’s status. Like this, governments also face more difficult situations. Even simple changes in their policies could have severe effects on other countries, and, of course, themselves. Therefore, contemporary people need to have much more thinking power to solve problems in this globally connected society which come from advanced technologies.

To sum up, I believe the development of technologies accelerates our thinking abilities. Thus, it is time to think about how to increase intellectual abilities faster, not to concern decreased human abilities by technologies, which might never happen.