In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

For better organizations, should leadership be changed in five years? The statement questions whether professions in power have to be kept or resigned periodically. Maintaining leadership seems to have beneficial effects on organizations’ stability. However, I believe that periodical changes of power would make the organization better since these changes can give changes to reevaluate and reform themselves.

Maintaining leadership is certainly one of the ways to keep an organization stable. Although changes in leaders’ views might sometimes occur, core perspectives of leadership on the organization would be maintained. Likewise, other related stakeholders might keep their view on the organization. In this environment, few would think the organizations will face severe transformation. Furthermore, this makes their employees sustainable. Since many workers feel worried, and even fear, when the leadership is supplanted, same management during the long period can foster employees’ thought that their organization is stable to work.

Nevertheless, a true promoter of organizations’ improvement would be periodical replacement of leadership. The important first task of new leadership is to investigate previous management. In this task, new leaders can find not only useful experiences but also some abuse of previous leaders. For example, many democratic nations revise faults of previous governments after a regime change.

Additionally, these fresh leadership can infuse new energy into old organizations. As a new starter, they create a new vision for the organization’s future and sometimes modify an organizational structure to achieve their goal. Even though organizational shifts can some noises in groups, nevertheless it is a needed growth pain and the shift can make the new era of a organization.

In conclusion, I believe changing leadership has more beneficial effects than maintaining. Given that our society is in a rapidly changing world, periodically revising groups’ faults and energy from new leadership might be crucial to enhance the probability of organizations’ success.