People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Some people believe that people's behavior is determined by their own making, not by forces come from outside. However, I disagree on it: I think financial factors and mass media mostly governs people's behavior, though there might be other factors. There are possible examples who overcome these factors, but the number of those persons is small to be meaningful.

I think most of individuals' behavior is affected by their financial environment. Almost no individual can do anything without money and support: for example, it is known that the average income of students of top universities in Korea exceeds that of average income of all university students. What does it mean? Entering top universities needs hard studying, and it takes lots of effort and health. Moreover, to concentrate with study, continuous support and stability should be provided: as unstability disturbs one's concentration. All of these conditions are available those who have parents with high income and continuous support, and we cannot hope these stuffs for poor families - who always troubled by financial problems.

Some opponents may suggest there are persons who overcomes adverse environment, by suggesting famous figures or known examples by media. I agree that there are such persons, but why they are famous, or media give attention to those who overcome adverse conditions? I think this is because overcoming it is what everyone wished, but hardly feasable, therefore media sells rare cases to satiate public's desire. We have always heard we can get a good grade by hard work, but as mentioned, we also know that it is not attainable for everyone, and even studying harder is not choosable option for who cannot concentrate on their study, for example, those who have to earn money or be troubled by physical or mental illness.

Financial environment explains each individual's tendency. I also think mass media affects people's mass behavior. I have heard lots of protests against the large companies or governments. Unfortunately, none of them is activated largely without the support of media: even under serious problems, people will be unnoticed if media tells nothing about a thing. Various problems in Japan could be an example: there are a variety of scandals on Abe's government, but protests against the scandal is too small that even racist march by Zainichi - extreme-right racists in Japan - is larger than the protests. Of course, almost no media shows about protests against the government.

A possible opposition is: there are persons who works under their belief even if media tells nothing about it: an environmental activists could be examples. However, the number of these people is too small, and even them are affected by other forms of media, like YouTube, Twitter, Facebook or their own newspapers or media. Therefore, the opposition does not truly disprove my opinion.