People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the rise in violent crimes becoming a worrying trend affecting society, there have been extensive debates on whether such criminal activities are influenced by society or a product of the person's own choices. The prompt suggests that people's reaction to various scenarios is largely not a product of their own making but is influenced by factors that lie outside her control. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the aforementioned statement, and will provide a possible counterargument and an argument to refute the previous claim.

It can be claimed that a person's reaction to various life scenarios is largely a product of their own choices, and there is unquestionably some truth to the argument. For instance, hardened convicts has been often been found to have a tumultuous upbringing, with instances of separated parents, early exposure to criminal activity and abusive relationships commonplace. Now, one can argue that while such conditions can have a lasting effect on a person's mind, not every person exposed to such hardships falls into a life of criminal activity. This shows that such criminals could have chosen to make their condition better and live a normal life, but turned to a life of immorality instead.

However, while a person's choices evidently determine the course of her life, it cannot be denied that exposure to such unfortunate incidents at an early age leaves an enduring impact on the child's psyche. Moreover, this is especially true for children in the teenage or young adult age groups, where immaturity and a lack of direction makes these children susceptible to immoral influences. Without a stable family to keep them in check, these teenage kids might ultimately get biased and turn to a life of criminal activities.

In a nutshell, even though a convict is fully responsible for the crimes she committed because she chose to do so, the influence of adverse scenarios in such a person's life cannot be ignored. It is the responsibility of society as a whole to provide a safe and healthy environment for our children, to ensure that they become responsible and empathetic citizens of their country.