People’s behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Behaviour is the response of human to both internal and external stimuli. By definition, both internal and external factors play role in determining our response. However, in present time role of internal environment is overshadow by external environment. Therefore, I mostly agree with the prompt that people's behaviour is largely governed by forces external to us than our own factors for two reasons. However, I do concede that there are extreme cases when people are lead by their inner self.

First of all, in present time, world is well connected and under our reach. Hence, factors external to us slowly became the driving force. For instance, rise of social media platforms. In past decade, the way we connect, shop or explore the world has changed. Even though social media has serves us well and became of our support system, but at the same time it controls an individual equally effectively. For instance, young kids are one of the major users of such platforms. Interest of posting updates has now converted into obsession to portray themselves as flawless. They are under constant pressure to look good, attractive, liked, followed, most talked etc. This is affecting their mental health. Recent studies have also showed that in past decade cases of stress and depression have been doubled. Further, investigation also revealed that citizen's of US were influenced using social media during 2016 Presidential election. This example proves the extend to which social media can influence and manipulate our response. Both the examples have shown that external factors contribute largely in shaping person's response and behaviour.

Secondly, reaction of person is dependent on immediate external situation. Earlier in ancient times, women were not treated with respect and also considered inferior to men. Social duties and rules were also separate for both gender. Thus, participation of women was lacking in various fronts. On the contrary, in present time, women have shown their capabilities in diverse field as opportunities are very well available and accessible to women. The change in external factors and society contributed positively in shaping new personality of women. Reformers have contributed in raising such issues and behaviour of both society as well as women towards each other has changed. To further understand effect to external factors in our response, assume that a government official is well known for his anti-corruption views and stands. He is highly regarded in his department. However, if his wife is diagnosed with cancer and requires huge amount for treatment. This tense situation will provoke the person to accept bribe to augment his wife's treatment. This example clearly shows that it is not his usual and moral inclination towards bribe but the external condition which motivates him to act in such direction.

However, I do concede that there are some example of people whose bahaviour is driven by their internal and inherent nature. For example, Hitler from Germany. He had troubled childhood and was affected by WWI. But he was not the only one who suffered such events and his dictatorship though he got elected democratically was one of the dark phase in history. It was his inner traits, selfishness and greed which causes millions of people to loss their life. On the other hand, Mahatma Gandhi formidably followed peaceful yet effective non-violence while protesting against British colonization and their injustice. These leaders are extreme examples of actions shaped by their inner traits.

Overall, I mostle agree that individual behaviour is shaped by external factors to large extent and our we behave differently under external influence. However, I do concede that there are limited person who firmly remained anchored to their inner traits.