It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Cultural traditions are integral part of a nation but whether cities support in preserving and nurturing cultural traditions or not is debatable issue. The prompt suggests that cities primarily generate and preserve cultural heritage. However, I mostly disagree with the view for two main reasons which I will explain below. Yet, I do concede that cities do play limited role in preserving cultural heritage.

First of all, cities are the mixing ground of different cultures. In cities like Mumbai, Tokyo, London people from diverse background get mixed up. Therefore, glimpses of global culture and tradition can be found in cities. For example when a person from rural area or other country comes into a city, food and dressing will very soon be moulded to the new culture. Further, due to globalization cuisines from different places are available in cities. For instance, in Mumbai diverse flavours like Chinese, Italian, Mexican are available. This dilutes the authentic flavours of Indian food. If an art connoisseur wants to understand and taste Indian food then he should visit to countryside places in India. Tribal art forms, hand work and crafts, all these are preserved by countryside peoples. Similarly in Paris variety of cakes and pasties are available but to taste authentic wine one needs to visit places far from city.

Secondly, in cities people are extremely busy in their day to day activities. People follow a set routine from morning to night. Hence, with each passing day touch with culture and ritual is lost. For example, Dushera, a famous Indian festive, is a ten day long celebration. However, in cities people do not have time to spent ten days to follow the customs and cultures to celebrate this festival. Hence, festivals are celebrated within limited time of a day or two. Further, generation by generation the traditions are becoming more dilute due to lack of time. On the other hand, in villages, people celebrate and follows traditions in small community. Worships and offering to deity is performed as per old traditions. Hence rituals are passed on from one generation to another. As a result, a very close knitted bonding exists among people. In search of one's inner self, people from different part of the world visits remote villages in India. Philosophers and thinkers penned their extraordinary experiences an deeper understanding of traditions which they gained by spending time in countryside.

However, I do concede that up to limited extend cities plays a role in preserving a nation's culture. For instance, art museums are situated in big cities. When people visits those places, they get to know about various art forms of a nation at one place. Hence, museums presents all diverse cultures under one roof.

Overall, I mostly disagree that cities help to preserve any cultural traditions because people are busy in cities and diverse cultures are available. However, I do concede that museums and art galleries in cities present cultural view of a nation.