Although innovations such as video computers and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students these technologies all too often distract from real learning. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

Popular believe is that innovations such as videos, computer and internet distract students and affect a student’s learning. Yet, modern innovations have improved our everyday life and transformed the world. If used in appropriate way, can contribute in development of learner. Hence, I mostly disagree with author’s stand that innovation impede learning for two reasons that I will explain below. However, I do concede that technology should be used as supplementary factor to support learning.

Modern innovation has positive impact on learning and improved our learning experience. For instance, Internet is one of the most powerful tool of present time. It plays a vital role to provide easy access to knowledge. It also improved quality of education and reduced burden of high cost. Online tutorial videos, recorded lectures and forums not only provides quality study material to students but also reduced constraints of place and time. Moreover, internet supports mass connectivity. For example, a teacher takes online classes and large number of students from different geography simultaneously joins the class. Thus, even an unprivileged student from country side have access to wealth of knowledge, which was not possible earlier. The aspirant can acquire primary education as well as upgrade his skills. By this way, internet served him with possibilities to improve his life. Further, internet keeps student up to date with latest information of relevant topics. Overall, these benefits will be impossible without technology.

Further, if we compare teaching method now and 50 yrs back, technology has improved student-teacher interaction many folds. Earlier teachers explain concepts with the help of books, figures etc. Now, complex concepts can be understood easily. For example, 3D models of atom or chemical bond, animated structure of animals, space videos, audios, colorful pictures augment learning experience. These features assist teacher to explain concepts in a better way. Students have more interactive and inclusive sessions with teacher. They find learning more interesting and able to visualize what is being taught to them. As a result, they have solid understanding of concept and are able to apply them in their future projects. Education is one of the pillars of sustainable development of nation and internet plays significant role in education.

However, I do concede that over dependence on technology may hinder student’s logical thinking and thus his overall learning. The apt example of this is transformed learning approach by AI. Too much reliance on AI-driven learning tools will affect student’s ability to think creatively, critically and independently. In near future, while AI can replace human educator in classroom, it cannot replace insights, adaptability and compassion that a human teacher provide. This will hinder development of interpersonal abilities. Thus until technology is used as supplementary tool it is beneficial. However, once it dominates, consequences are not favorable.

Overall, contribution of technology is vast spread and common in present time therefore we are not able to notice its impact. For example, Internet is the most potent force for shaping modern learning and innovation. Yet, technology should not regulate the process of learning but should support it.