People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

People should question the rules of authority rather than agreeing to them quietly, but they shouldn’t question everything there are something that require unquestionable acceptance and people need to understand this distinction.

One the prime examples of not questioning authorities gone wrong can be seen in allowing governments to implement rules without any kind of feedback. The whole mark of democracy is that the people are able to question the government’s actions and hold them accountable for it. This accountability helps the nation to understand what more important for their country. Thus, people should question the rules of authority rather than agreeing to them quietly, but they shouldn’t question everything there are something that require unquestionable acceptance and people need to understand this distinction.

Pakistan is a state security nation and a large chunk of the GDP is designated for defense forces, all the while the health care and educational infrastructure keeps on deteriorating. We as a nation are responsible for this because we have allowed them to make such policies without doing as much as raising a finger against it. There haven’t been any wars in Pakistan since the 1970’s but still we spent billions and billions of rupees on our militaries and defense equipments. If we or our forefathers have ever questioned this policy, we as a nation would have been far ahead in technology, healthcare and education. If we had the questioned the motives of the government we would be living in a social security nation rather than a state security nation. Negligence form the people give total power the rules which leads to disruption in the society.

But, questioning every move of the authorities is also a narrow minded approach; there are many things that are misunderstood by the common people. Such as diplomatic ties, trade and economic issues, these are the things that must be left for the experts to decide and carryout.

Questioning should be for the sake of improvement rather than criticism, and before we start to question something we need to ask ourselves a few questions like; Have I understood the problem completely? Do I possess the necessary knowledge to talk over the set issue? Would raising a question solve the issues? Only after we have answered all these questions in the affirmative, we can go ahead and question the rules and policies set by the authorities.