People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterward are poor decision-makers.

The human emotion has been found over the years to be subjective and not objective - making people give different reasons, choices and decisions for their actions. This has also been proven by scientific evaluations to be true, hence it is not used as a basis of any sort in systems such as the judiciary, to judge cases. As a result judges do not judge cases for the emotional-merit of such cases, but based on evidences. Arguments in the law court also do not hold water if they are emotionally-based.

In view of this, decision-making based on emotions can be really fatal and this can be compounded by logical justifications made afterward. Take for instance, I come into the office and find my table messed up. I could choose to flare up emotionally and ask vehemently about the mess. Doing this would make me jump to conclusions and make mistakes, as I do not know the cause for such mess. However, and better still, I could choose to be calm and inquire about the mess. You will agree with me that doing the latter would be better, as the cause for the mess might be as a result of some repairs being conducted in the roof of the building or due to natural causes such as an earthquake, or an earth tremor.

In addition to this, making a decision based on emotion and justifying such with logic afterwards would only make one come across as immature. This is because the ability to critically analyse situations has been found to be commensurate with maturity. Thus, one who is mature is expected to analyze situations with logic and seek explanations that are fact-based and realistic, and not emotional-based and imaginary. This point is buttressed in politics, as the knowledgeable and politically-mature persons who can transform the minds of others by means of eloquent speeches, logical statements and promises - true and untrue - are more likely to gain the approval of the masses, compared to others who are not knowledgeable nor logically enlightened, and who cannot speak convincingly.

On another note, people who make decisions based on their emotions may not perform well as entrepreneurs and may not be successful or wealthy in life and business as they would not be good risk takers. Entrepreneurship - to a large extent - requires logical analysis of businesses and the tendencies of such businesses to succeed. Such venture would therefore not go far, if decisions are made based on emotion. Risks would have to be taken and actions would have to be conducted that may hurt one too many feelings, but have to be done, for the benefit and long-term success of the firm.

This notwithstanding, there may be situations or scenarios where decisions by emotion can be essential. For example in raising a family, in loving someone who may have hurt one, in philanthropy and in caring for others, emotions play a major role in one's decisions and is thus, vital.

In conclusion, people ought to make decisions based on facts and logic, before emotions, and not based firstly on emotion, in order to arrive at excellent decisions that are good for the majority and would be justifiable to reasoning, when scrutinized in the law courts.