Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggested that Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. This leads me to wonder if these benefits of Green tea are applicable to humans. How am I to know that the Green tea was made for human consumption and not for animals, birds or other organisms. Thus, there is the possibility that Green tea can be used by foraging animals, or even for domesticated animals or wild animals - to ensure longer life and enhance health - as the passage does not suggest that it was made for humans.

If on the other hand, it is suitable for human intake, why would people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits? What warrants this belief? Mere hearsay? Ignorance? Or superstition? Recall that too much of everything is not good. Thus, an overdose of this Green tea might not be ideal. Those who take it, should not take an overdose, but as prescribed by a physician.

Furthermore, the argument posits that Green tea contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. This leads me to also ask, Who made this finding? Was it made by the manufacturers or by scientists who tried to ascertain te cause of the symptoms? What amounts of caffeine does Green tea contain? Are these amounts healthy for humans? or for animals and other organisms? In addition to this, the passage informs us that a long-term study was conducted, this also leads me to ask, Who made this long-term study? Were the findings made by means of questionnaires? or by door-to-door analysis? By scientists or by persons who were concerned? What symptoms did the long-term study find, from the excessive intake of Green tea? Sleeplessness? irritability? headaches? Furthermore, these symptoms can be easily caused by fatigue or stress, and may not be due to the intake of Green tea, as there is no evidence from the passage that shows the study out rightly mentioning these symptoms as symptoms for excessive intake of Green tea.

Therefore, the conclusion is invalid, and is one that I would not agree with, as we are not informed by the passage that taking more than two cups of green tea a day, would result in symptoms such as sleeplessness, irritability and/ or headaches. In addition to this, it can be argued that the author’s conclusion is biased, as it could be that he or she has a rival company producing a similar product as Green tea and therefore, seeks to discourage those who take Green tea from doing so, in order to maintain a monopoly of the tea market.