People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

People base there decision on one of the two things - emotion or logic. Neither of them is wrong, it entirely depends upon the situation's demand. However, to make a decision based on emotion and later justify those decisions with logic is a sign of a poor decision maker.

Tensions between India and Pakistan have been going on for decades, with hatred for one another on both sides. However, the politicians cannot wage a war on the other, succumbing to their hatred filled emotion. Here, they need to take their decisions based on rational, logic. They need to pragmatic. Further, their are situations where one needs to base ones decision on emotions. In the recent Syria crisis it would be completely logical and legal to not allow refugees into other countries, but the situation calls for an emotional decision - for the sake of humanity one needs to provide them shelter and support. Thus, the point being made here is to base one's decision on logic or emotion depends completely upon the situation one is in and none of them can be termed as poor decisions.

However, if a person bases a decision on emotion and justifies it with logic, then certainly the person is a poor decision maker. If one cannot stand by ones decision and justify it with emotion - assuming one had made the decision based on emotion - then certainly while making the decision the person was not sure about his decision. The person was equivocal, mixed up in multiple thoughts and not sure how to proceed.

One may claim that sometimes to convince society, that one has made the right decision, one may need to adhere to logic even if one had made the decision based on emotion. I would like to argue here that, if one cannot accept and justify the emotional reasons behind ones decision then it is evident that the decision made is faulty and inherently poor.

To conclude, to base your decision on emotion or logic according to the situation at hand and stand by the decision and justify it with the same reasons that compelled one into taking that decision is a wise thing to do and in no way one can term such people as poor decision makers. However, to base ones decision on emotions and then later justify it using logic showcases that one is unsure of what one is doing. Decisions made being unsure are always poor and hence such people can be termed poor decision makers.