Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Education is the most important building block of our society. How a society is built, largely depends upon the education its members has received. Thus there has always been debates as to what should be the foundation of education.Should it be based on the pillars of morality or on logical and rational reasoning? According to me it should be have a logical and rational foundation.

We face situations where we need to depend on our morals to take a decision - suppose you end up in a place where vegetarian food is not available but you have been a vegetarian all your life. Such moral issues arise daily. Further these need not be the issues we have come across before in our life or we were taught during our moral education classes. Such times call for us a more rational and logical thinking where through logic we could come to a conclusion as to what is right and what is not. The point being made here is that logic would give you the freedom to decide for yourself. Further it would allow you to make a rational choice in situations where your previous teaching of morals cannot be applied.

Eating beef is considered immoral by some cultures whereas other cultures find no problem in it, historically in some cultures crossing the sea/ocean and going to a different land was considered a sin but now times have changed. The point here is morals are neither universal nor everlasting rather they are local and ephemeral. Thus who would decide as to what is moral and what is not. Further, defining set morals(by some authority) and making them a foundation for education would be a big mistake. Not only would it be biased - towards the views of the authority - but also it would be not exhaustive catering to every situation you face in life.

However, some basic morals - stealing is bad, bullying and ragging is not ethical - based on humanity should certainly be imbibed. This would not only give a sound base on which we can construct our future decisions regarding moral situations, but also restrict the absolute freedom that logic give us(absolute freedom of any kind is harmful).

To conclude, morality should not be the foundation of education as it is very subjective and ephemeral in nature. Rather logical reasoning would serve as a more stronger foundation where people can have a rational debate, discussion and decide for themselves as top what is moral.