People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Society is an amalgamation of people with different attitudes. And It is not necessary that immediate situation or surrounding causes the change in people’s attitude. Society as a whole actually directs our attitude towards other people’s behaviour, actions, thoughts they put up. Society has norms, ethics which are created from a long process of evolution and adaptation.

To further explain this point, consider the two different societies of different cultures, one from the western side of the world and one from the east side of the world. Say America and Pakistan. Where people in America support open and free world, Whereas some people in Pakistan who live under extremist society less believe in an open and free world. It’s the difference between the two societies which influences people‘s attitude.

Consider the example of reviews, we have seen a sudden rise in websites which posts review about different things, like movies, product etc. This is because people get influenced by an opinion of other people before trying out something they go with which has good reviews. In this scenario, no situation or surrounding is influencing the attitude of that person towards something it is the society which affects one’s thought process.

In conclusion, It is not necessary that situation or surrounding will affect the attitude of people even if it does it will be a very small fraction of what society does as a whole.