People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Consciousness which controls our behaviors is no doubt one of the most mysterious thing in this universe, attracting so many great nature scientists' attentions like the Nobel Prize winters in physics Feynman and Crick and scholars from social science. And some people argue that people's behavior is almost determined by forces from outside. I have different attitudes on this statement if I consider it from social science and physics.

I totally agree this statement if I treat myself as a social scientist because human as a product of the society can not get out of the influence of the society. In other words, all things which determined our behaviors like the way of thinking, views of the world and life, qualities are built from the society which includes human and environment. For instance, the famous racist Hitler who was the supreme leader of the nazism deemed the Jew as the most inferior nation and slaughtered them during the Second World War. Hitler just took advantage of the religious conflict and the public' envy the richness of the Jew. Obviously, the public did not hate the Jew to the extent that they were glad to kill them and they were just hugely influenced at that kind of atmosphere. And for Hitler himself, he was also the product of the society at that time and we could roughly deduce how he built his view of this world from his biography. What is more, even a common worker who work every day can not escape the impact from the society. The reason why he chooses this kind of job, why he treats his boss and family with different attitudes, why he loves this kind of food can be roughly explained from the people and environment around him if we consider it deeply. The following special cases explain why the statement claims "largely" instead of "absolutely". It is a particularly salient example that some crazy killers with metal disease are found carrying abnormal genes. And they are born with propensity for violence even if they live in a totally normal family, which is beyond our understanding from the standpoint of social science. All of these example align with the statement.

However, I would argue that human behaviors are totally controlled by forces from outside if I consider it from physical standpoint. As we all know, a human from the physical standpoint is no more than a pile of atoms though it is still a mystery how these atoms produce the consciousness. And if we treat the pile of atoms as a system, we can regard the behavior as the reaction or rearrangement of these atoms. That our brain gives orders to our body is indeed rearrangement of these atoms in our brain. Besides, our body is even from the enviroment considering that our body has larger volume which means more atoms when we get older. These examples illustrate that to some extent, a human is just a system composed of atoms which can react to the forces outside.

To sum up, I mostly agree with this statement from the standpoint of social science and fully support it if I consider it from the physical standpoint.