People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my understanding, the behavior of human being is the response of people to any action, or the character of any human being influenced by the environment around. In the statement above, the author raise the issue that the behavior of anyone is largely determined by the external force rather than their own making. Indisputably, some might argue that human habit and emotions are sometime not under the control of the environment. However, such characters are founded and influenced by the environment around him or her. I strongly agree with the opinion of the author that external forces are largely responsible for the determination of the people’s behavior.

Being the social animal, human being are always force to follow the norms and values created by the society. Society is a group of people living together with common values and lifestyle. For example, in Muslim religion, there are rules and regulation for human being. The society guide to a person’s behavior. One is not allow to wear the dresses of his or her own wish. Girls are always force to cover their face with their traditional cloths. In such a society, we can clearly see the people’s action are not done by their will but the society in which people are living and also their descendent will follow them similarly. In this circumstances, obviously people are always limited to the norm and values. They are guided by the strict rules and regulation. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the external forces determine the behavior of the people.

Furthermore, since the birth behavior of human being are under the control. As an example, in some Asian country, when a child is born, he or she is always under the monitor of mother until he or she grows up. Once he or she has grown up, society is always around him which bind him and teaches the tradition and culture. Tradition and culture refer to the common activities based on which people in the society live. In such a cases, a person’s behavior are always under the judgement. Such a lifestyle has been practiced in Asian country as per my personnel experience, I can clearly see that behavior is mostly determined by the external factors.

Admittedly, when it comes to emotion, emotion are not able to control by the external forces. However, when we talk about the maximum character of human, external forces like the environment, society, norms and traditions are always responsible.

In conclusion, although few characters or behavior are determined by the external factors. Most of the characters are influence by the surrounding.