The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by the leader than any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

People assess political leaders’ greatness based on different views, some claim their greatness has more to do with the challenges they faced during their service. Meanwhile, others relate their greatness to the inherent abilities and skills they possess. Inherent abilities and skills may be abstract in some cases; Consequently, an assessment of a politician should be predicated majorly on more realistic grounds such as the challenges he encountered while serving.

In the same manner educational institutions assess a student’s skills by examinations, a leader’s abilities are appraised by his performance while tackling the problems he faces. Natural abilities are not as conspicuous to the masses the way the challenges a leader encounters are. Therefore, the citizens are more liable to perceive his greatness by what they can measure as opposed to abstract talents.

Besides the challenges being more obvious to the people, they affect them directly. For example, a president is more taken as being great for solving the power problems in a country than a president that only possess the ability to improve the work ethic of workers in the power sector. For this reason, a ruler will be adjudged to be more successful for his tribulations.

Although, skills set provides the leader with adequate tools to tackle his challenges, they don’t portray the extent of his performance as much as his tribulations would. Skills could be seen as being theoretical principles while challenges could be perceived as practicals. Demonstrations are more relatable to the people compared to theoretical principles which would be abstract to most.

Thus, the greatness associated to an individual be it, political leader or otherwise, is to a large degree according to the tribulations he overcomes rather that the intrinsic skills he boasts.