How to curb corruption if you were the president of your country

Corruption is an act of carrying out activities in a fishy manner for the sole purpose of one’s or a group of people’s selfish gain. It is one of many hindrances that limits the development of a country. And it affects the economy because it derails the possibility of a smooth operation in the country. Therefore corruption should be curbed as much as possible. Corruption in Nigeria is a rampant act that serves an obstacle to the advancement of the country. This act can be reduced by taking some important steps, and also with the help of the people in the country as a whole.

If I was the president of the country, I would take following steps to limit corruption to a reasonable degree.

Firstly, I would make sure there is a rigorous screening process for selection into important positions in the country. Each person chosen should possess the necessary values of an incorruptible person. These values could include; honesty, trustworthiness, indelible past record etc. if people of good values are chosen to take up positions in the country, corruption would be curbed to a very large extent.

Also, the presidents, heads of department, ministers that have been selected according to their values should act as an example for others to follow. As long as the leaders of the country are people of good character, and they show their followers to exercise similar behavior, there’s a high possibility of tackling corruption.

Secondly, the activities that go on in government, departments, ministries, should be transparent as much as possible. Everybody in each department should plainly understand the activities that occur and should have an idea when something appears suspicious. When there’s adequate transparency in every aspects of government, anyone that could be involved in corrupt practices would be more careful. This also could reduce the tendency of corruption.

Lastly, a severe punishment should be in place for anyone that is involved in such practices. The punishment shouldn’t be lenient to anyone, and anyone found guilty should be punished as deserved. With this in place, people would tend to act purely and corruption would be reduced drastically.

In conclusion, I believe taking the above steps would curb corruption to a reasonable extent. These steps include transparency in every activity in the country, defaulters punished severely, heads should lead by example and a rigorous screening process should be in place for the appointment of ministers and other important positions. Although, all these steps could be adopted, and corruption would still exist. This is because corruption cannot be completely curbed, it can only be reduced to a reasonable extent.