a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain aNy civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor

I am not totally agree with statement. I agree a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract but I am agree with that he or she should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

When we talk about crime than it's important to understand all aspects of the situation in which crime happens.Sometimes person did crime to save themselves also. For example if someone intentionally disturb another at highest level than the person can do anything due to irritation. similarly in India it has been seen that female killed man to protect herself, so the girl should retain any civil rights or the benefit from her own labor.

Human has tendency to react towards others action. crime is also one of the reaction for needs (may be physical, materialistic or mental). This reactions drive behavior of an individual which can be modify. Similarly, if someone is doing crime knowingly than we can provide behavior correction therapies through psychologist rather than giving punishment by hindering civil rights.

when we stop someone from their right than he or she do same mistake again again due to their stubbornness. so we should find some other penance to absolve the crime insist of dismissing their civil rights and right to benefit from his or her own labor.