a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain aNy civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor

I do not totally agree that a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain nay civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Although a person that has knowingly commited a crime has broken the social contract, it does not neccessarily mean such an individual's civil rights or right to benefit from his or her own labor should be abrogated. By proscribing the civil liberties of such an individual, the society has also descended into the pit bog of infamy of demanding an eye for an eye. Instead there is a need to be better, there are better ways of extracting every ounce of penitence and contrition from such an individual without nullifing his or her civil liberties or the right to benefit from his or her labour.

To be factual and to draw verisimilitude from the present judicial system of most countries, a person that has knowingly commited a crime is not guilty until proven otherwise in a competent court of allow. And whilst the case is still being judged, such an individual retain the civil right to be represented by a lawyer or self representation as he or she wishes.

This has shown that even contemporary judicial system does allow criminals a scintilla of civil right. However, it does not end there. Due to the fickle nature of man, I feel that even while incarcerated, criminals should be allowed to explore ways of being productive, giving back to the system which they have tried to rip apart and eventually benefit from their own labor. Again, this scenario is evident in the present correctional systems in place in most countries of the world.

Great care has to be taken when it comes to requisite punishment for crime perpetuated by an individual. Such barbarian acts like jungle justice, an eye for an eye and other forms of extra judicial or martial acts should be eschewed.

Reason for this view has to do with the need to give such an individual an opportunity to advance why he or she has commited such acts, the type of preparations that was undertook etcetra. These information will allow the society to be better prepared to forestall recurrence and reduce its susceptibility to such. Jungle justice, extra-judicial maltreatment, torture etcetra - which are some form of proscription of civil rights, should have no place in the Correctional/Penitentiary system.

In the words of Friedrich Nietzsche - he who fights a monster should take care not to become a monster and when you look long into an abyss , the abyss looks back at you. We can not fight mendacity with mendacity, we have to do better.

Conclusively, knowingly commiting a crime should not neccessarily equate to having forgone all civil rights and the right to benefit from the fruit of one's labor.