"A person's own habits and attitudes often limit that person's freedom more than do restrictions imposed by others."

People are inherently complainant, who prone to complain about the restrictions surrounding them implying those are preventing them to act with freedom. Is that truth? From my point of view, it’s just an usual character of a person not to accept his irregularities. Additionally, the acts of a person play the preventive role to circumscribe his freedom. So, I strongly agree with the above assertion.

To start off, every people has his own habits and attitudes according which he acts. Humans create the society for their own benefit and confined with various rules and regulations. Those very rules and regulations, imposed by the humans consequently prevent them to perform to the way they wish. For instance, drinking is prohibitive in many countries, and this prohibition has been imposed by a group of legislatures. Those legislatures, undoubtedly the members of that society where people live, who like to drink. However, they can’t because of that prohibition. So, that’s something that surely against their freedom, whereas, many countries have legalized drinking.

Similarly, a person is directly enforcing prevention on his freedom in some cases. Where, that person is engaged to pursue his own interest letting the freedom to be vanished. Consider, for the example, a business, who most of the time of the day thinks about how to expand his own business. He expends his time in meeting, castigating his employees, going abroad to deal with new customers only to expand the very business, nothing else. In the meantime, there are other sorts of things related to life that need focus, that admittedly need time. But, what is that business doing? He merely things about his free time that can be spent to refresh him, entertain him, elsewhere those are the very need of a human being, otherwise a human being is no less than a robot. So, it is clear that the businessman is constraining his freedom only with help of his habits and attitudes.

However, there are some exceptions, where a person can rarely act considering his freedom. During those particular moments a person’s move is determined by others, restricting his very own freedom. The time of natural disaster can be taken into account to describe the former scenario. A person might thing to meander through the town, while a scale 5 tornado is tormenting everything is it’s way. However, his move will definitely be suppress by someone only to keep that person safe.

To sum, getting inured to the habits and attitudes, a person is resisting himself to savor the act of freedom. But, it’s not mandatory that the former claim must always be true.