Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals. I agree with the author’s statement considering the majority of the situations in real world where People elect their leader expecting to fulfill their needs which will be grounded and reasonable consensus. I also believe politicians will be having many constraints like time, budget, and a lot more to pick the idea to implement.

For example, recently the whole world is undergoing a serious pandemic which has affected many lives. These are the times where the need of government and politicians will be more required for the people, during these days politicians should be thinking to solve the real-time problems like the supply of oxygen increasing the bed counts in already established hospitals rather than building a new hospital which might take time to develop.

There might be situations where we need to think for the future generations and their development

which will have a lot of factors to compare, for example, If we consider the case of jobs generation for youth in 2 years or less and also tasks like bringing back the black money are considered as elusive ideals because situations in the future may not be the same as now and to bring a big change or to implement elusive ideals it will be requiring a lot more support and a lot of people involvement and support are required which are harder tasks to be implemented in a short span of time.

I strongly believe the conditions around the politicians also play a major factor to pick what to pursue example, Politicians in countries like China who has constant and stable government can implement elusive ideas because they will be having ample amount of time and support to complete the task or ideas that will be implemented.

So by the above statements, I strongly believe that conditions and time around the politician plays a crucial role in pursuing the common ground reasonable consensus or to pursue elusive ideals