The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City s local newspaper In our region of Trillura the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend the city run public schools comes from taxes that each city government collect

The letter to the editor of Parson City’s local newspaper remarks that Parson City residents accentuated providing a good education more than Blue City residents did. But he just based his opinion on little evidence which was the proportion of overall tax revenues attributed to education fees. His conclusion is not cogent and convincing as lacks of deep insight and specific evidences.

First, differences in the budgetary priority don’t necessarily argue for their different value on education qualities. Blue City may face totally different social situations compared with Parson City. We can conjecture that Blue is a barren agricultural society with little financial income. In this condition, they have to allocate limited resources to other exigent fields. In contrast, if Parson City is an affluent industrial society, they will definitely devote more money to education fields. But this difference cannot support this letter’s conclusion for the crucial reality. Also, fiscal expenditures and education costs are in proportion with local economic levels. That is to say, to cover the faculty costs or the infrastructure maintaining costs, there is no doubt for a certain affluent society to pay more. But the letter’s author doesn’t reveal the developing situations in these two cities. So, lack of specific evidence makes us hard to discern who put more value on education.

Second, when it comes to the same number of residents, the letter’s author also lacks other evidence. He only considers the absolute terms and ignore demographic statics. For example, just like some developed countries, some cities face the problem of aging of the society where youngsters only share a small part of populations. Hence, from primary schools to secondary school, their scales become smaller and need less funds. This could happen in Blue city. So, this letter’s author should do additional researches in demographic, sociological fields to support his assertion.

Third, this letter draws the ethereal judgement from economic aspects which is not scientific and lack consideration of many other convoluted elements. For example, if citizens’ education notions are different, Blue City people put more emphasis on social practices. Knowledge comes from social experience. In this assumption, Blue City government certainly needn’t par more for school education. Also, another element can be teaching methodologies. Progressive teaching ways enhance efficiency which saves labor and financial resources. To verify these conjectures, the letter’s author should do some analysis of two cities’ students academic grades, practical techniques, emotional intelligence and so on to get a comprehensive comparison as solid evidence.

In conclusion, this editor didn’t provide enough evidence to support his judgement and more concrete situations need to be considered.