Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

When it talks about whether it is reasonable to present all the information, even the confidential messages, to the public to ensure their rights, I think both policies would have some advantages and disadvantages. On one hand, when the governing institutions choose to expose all the information of the society, it is undeniable that it would cause turmoil in the society and troubles for the government. On the other hand, when people get access to the secrete information, it is dubious that they could tackle all the problems wisely.

To begin with, is it necessary or even desirable of political leaders to withhold information from the public? The answer is yes, because the category of the information is very complex. Some unimportant messages, such the forecast of the weather, should inform the habitats as soon as possible, because they are closely related to the welfare of the public. But the reality is that most information which is received by the military or the government is threatening and dangerous. When it is exposed to the public, parsimonious affairs would make the situation out of control, which is unacceptable. So it is actually protective reactions for the government withholding some information to avoid detrimental effects.

Secondly, how about the privilege of the public? They believe that when they are informed of all kinds of information, they would make their own decisions from the aspect of individual interests. But, is it reasonable? They make the assumptions that they have the wisdom and strategies to tackle all the problems even the coming of atomic bombs. They also have the illusion that their interests would never be spoiled and invaded even the whole country has been destroyed. We all know that when people live in the whole society, their prestige and wealth are entitled by other people. When the whole society face catastrophes, these things become nonsense. So, their desire to make troubles for the government and call for all secrete information is insane. Their reasons are also tenuous when they lack the basic trust for their government.

To sum up, when people calm down, they would find that a large number of jeopardy and quandaries is out of their competence. When you hinge on the government for protection, you should put trust in your government and avoid being credulous and shun some gossips.