The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager Last week all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third

The owner of the Sunny Tower apartment complex wrote a letter to its manager to elucidate his opinion that by modifying showerheads to restrict their maximum water flow, the commercial company can increase their profits. He provided two pieces of evidence: less fees for the water and no complaints. But his evidences are fallacious and fraught of his subjective assumptions. There are many realistic factors needed to be took into consideration.

First, he said that the statics about whether the amount of water used has decreased was not available. To put it in another way, he lacked convincing evidence and replaced it with his assumption that is habitants definitely would use less water. But why? When you need to wash your fetid clothes, water which is damped into the machine doesn’t change. When your want to wash an apple, you just wash them for a longer time with restricted water flow. The author fabricates a chimera where citizens’ need will shrink just as the restricted water flow. So, his subjective enigma cannot be used to support the complex’s future management.

Second, the author just gave a mention of a few complaints and ignored the content of habitants’ complaints. There is possibility that they have been furious about this adjustment. Maybe the contract which was signed by two parts had relevant regulations of the water flow or maybe they think they needn’t surrender for one company’s commercial affairs. But the company shouldn’t forget that their service is fungible from the aspect of customers. If their policy galls habitants, they can switch to other companies. If so, the profits will decrease to a large degree.

Third, even if all these assumptions mentioned above cannot be really blocks, the author planned to promote his suggestions to other buildings. He also failed to consider the long-term effect. Habitants may be frugal as a response to the fervid call. But how many will persist on insisting this habit. Indeed, they haven’t be aware of their responsibility of saving water for the whole Earth. And the company failed to make them cognizant of their moral responsibility. Instead, the company just gave people the hint that they need to prolificate its profits and forced them to do so. Another question is whether other building’s habitants will respond to the company’s policy? Sometimes the needs differ from the downtown to the countryside and some don’t care but others will denounce invading their freedom. When lacking enough analysis, it is risky to promote some significant measures.

In the end, the author of this letter didn’t give compelling evidence to support his suggestion and needed an insightful survey to make the final edition for the company.