The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, people are enjoying the fruits of technology advancement and still expect more to come. In fact, no one had thought the big steps technology has taken making people’s life more efficient. The prompt recommends that our lives will become easier and we will be able to get more leisure time due to the progress in technology. In my opinion, I agree with this suggestion and argue that people should own technology and not vice versa for a few reasons.

Firstly, it is true that technology innovations are a common thing at these times. Thus, people are using these in their favor. For example, cellular telephones are a very useful tool that has made our lives easy. Consequently, communication through them has pushed globalization to a higher point which no one had thought before. However, too much time on our devices is not a good thing because it makes people depend on those phones and devote most of their free time to them. The above example illustrates that technology is good until it does not touch the interests of people, which is time and energy consuming.

Secondly, technology is not only phones but everything that is making our lives easy and shortens our work hours. For instance, at home we use different machines to clean, cook or to entertain us. Not worrying about cleaning or cooking gives us a considerable amount of time we can use for other things. Research has proven that people are freer now from previous extra chores they had to do before. In other words, smart machines are doing what many people had to do in a factory for example and can work less hours than before. One needs to look how much free time people have now compared with before.

In conclusion, technology innovations are present in our life and we should use them efficiently so we get more leisure time. Even though people tend to spend more time on their devices, this brings them together and makes globalization a concrete fact. Technological advancement was something unexpected but has improved our life with gigantic step. We should keep using the advancements in our favor.