The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The 21st century marks the beginning of the 3rd industrial revolution, which features in the great development in the information technology. Including the first and second industrial revolution, we people all experienced a great change in our life, most in the liberation of labor work. Some then argue that it is such technological advancement’s primary goal to increase people’s efficiency to enjoy more leisure time. I mostly do not agree with the idea in the following three perspectives.

First, it should be acknowledged that the development of technology aims at making people’s life better. Watt invented the steam machine, making new approaches of transportation possible. Edison invented the commercial light bulb, lighting up the houses and streets. And Turing created the idea of computer, using his computer prototype to help us fight back the German Nazis and paving the way for our new information era. Everyone cannot deny the benefits technology advances have brought us. We get bored of tidying the floor and washing dishes, and then it comes the vacuum cleaner and dish washer, so that we are free to do thing we like.

However, the development of technology is not that parochial to only increase people’s efficiency. The technology is developing not only in being faster but also being more harmless. The hole in the O3 zone in quite famous a decade or two ago, which is caused by the use of certain chemical in air-conditioner, and such chemical takes the role of catalyst in the chemical process of change O3 into O2, oxygen, and as the decrease of O3 in the air, the O3 hole thus appeared, which eventually made people vulnerable to skin cancer. Scientists work hard at that time and managed to find a new chemical that does not harm the O3 zone. And after years, the hole was successfully recovered. In the past, technology development was quite blindless and thus much damage was done to the environment, and people are now working hard to fix those mistakes and being more earth friendly, which is also the primary goal of the tech advancement.

Moreover, according to the reality, being more efficient does not always lead to more leisure time. People’s minds, based on the society condition, is malleable to the tech development. In the past factory people are limited in the competition of making more products, while at present, robots take over the job of manufacturing in modern companies, and people turn to the goal of how to maintain the machine and how to arrange the pipeline to get the maximum output. Even though labor jobs are eliminated, new cerebral jobs appear, making some people work more and some people lose their jobs. And if a person loses his or her job, how can his day be described as leisure?