The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency or not. Indisputably, technological advancement may affect negatively on some people so they waste their time on useless technological applications and tools like gaming and watching movies. Nevertheless, it can be used in useful ways like doing scientific researches and use the electrical devices on our daily life. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that technological advancement may negatively affect our life and would argue that it will increase our life efficiency.

First of all, technological advancement allowed us to develop high speed computers which can be used in deferent ways to solve our problems, and to make our life easier. I would like to point out that the use of computers will save a lot of effort in doing our jobs and make every thing organized. To illustrate, let us look at the example of using computers in our daily life, if we want to find the location of a place we want to visit and we don’t know where this place is, just pick up your computer or your phone and search on it using GPS service, and in seconds you can find the shortest road to reach the location you want, and this will save a lot of time which can be useful to have more leisure time. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that using computers in our daily life can save a lot of time and efforts.

Furthermore, if we use the technology in wrong way, it will waste our time and this will make our life more difficult. Specifically, if we spent our time in playing games, this will lead to make us unfriendly and lonely. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that the use of any thing in wrong way will lead to negative effect. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that we should use the technology in right way to make our life easier.

Admittedly, technology advance may decrease our efficiency. This is true especially when it comes to the use of some technologies like calculators to do all the mathematical equations. In addition, this will lead to decrease the mental abilities of humans to do math. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that the technology advance will decrease human’s efficiency. Because this will save much time to do the next step of the problem.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of technology advancement, we can get over these problems if we use the technology in a right way to make our life easier and to increase our efficiency. As long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved, our main conclusion still holds. In fact, we can extend the topic to more areas, to have more leisure time, we should use the technology advancement in the best way so it can make every thing better and we can do every thing we need in shortest possible time.