“Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since the dawn of time, the greatest societies on our planet deeply relied on progress in order to maintain their superiority. Nowadays, we can argue that the earth is populated with just one interconnected society thanks to the technology we have developed. This is by far our greatest accomplishment and we should focus our energies on scientific progress rather than anything else.

However, people tend to remain in their comfort zones, for they fear the unknown, and in doing so they impede the progress. Einstein’s relativity theory is an example of how people do not accept progress. Indeed, he proposed a completely new concept of time that was ignored and criticized since the vast majority of his colleagues were not ready to let go of the old Newtonian concept of time. Today, thanks to Einstein perseverance our knowledge of the universe slightly increased and we can apply his results in a lot of different fields.

Furthermore, progress in medicine and related fields is the main reason we have set an unprecedented record for the world population of over 7 billions people. We have successfully managed to cure an enormous number of deathly diseases, reducing the number of premature deaths. But that’s not all, we have developed vaccines that alone were responsible for a substantial drop in infant mortality.

Some might argue that all this progress endangers mankind, making use of global warming and pollution to strengthen their points. As far as I’m concerned, their assertions are only partially right; it is true that right now we are ruining the very planet we live on but we cannot accuse progress of being responsible for this situation. It is the nature of the human being, its greed and unscrupulousness, to be held responsible.

In conclusion, for all the reasons above stated, I profoundly believe that progress is the saviour of mankind and society.