Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is often considered great by the effort they put into their development. Greatness comes in different ways; it could be in form of economic stability, political might, technological advancement or even in foreign trades. One thing that is evident in societies that are considered great such as America, United Kingdom, Indian, China and many other countries is their continuous quest for knowledge and believe that everything can get better. These countries continuously strive for innovation and constantly improve on previous knowledge without the fear of the unknown. Indeed, any society that is great or strives to be great should be progress oriented.

In our society today, we enjoy the benefits of many people’s curiosity for a better life. Such is evident in the development of airplane. The wright brothers observed the birds flying in the air and felt that human could also transport in that way. The brothers went into research and had to think innovatively to discover the airplane we have today. This was not something any other person had thought of nor something that anyone had previously done. Their ability to renounce their obsolete way of thinking paved the way for other forms of aircraft. Other people too came up and improved on what the wright brothers had created, coming up with Jets and other forms of aircraft. India also invested in their health sector; trained many of their people in health and research. Today they have one of the best health sector in the world.

China is an exemplar of a great society; they took over technological advancement from other countries. China ensured that in there is progressive thinking in every level of their education. Children in preschool are made to learn about robots and even create robots. They ensure that the younger generation are of sharp minds and ready to try new things. Today, china has achieved the feat of being the most technologically inclined country in the world making it one of the fastest growing economy. Their ability to renounce obsolete way of thinking has earned them that spot in the world.

Many might argue that once a society is great such societies should not have to bother about innovative thinking again as they have earned their spot. Nokia used the be the best phone company; popularly known for making phones with good batteries. Today they are no longer the best as they became comfortable with their products and never strived to be better. When one needs to get a good phone these days, apple and Samsung readily come to mind as they have constantly improved and are progress oriented. Such is also the case when it comes to a society, a great society that fears the unknown and becomes too comfortable would just realize one day that they are far behind.

Nothing good has come out of fear, it only holds a society down while others who are bold enough to face their fears thrive. Innovative way of thinking has given us so much of what we enjoy today as a society. Critical and progressive thinking should never stop as it has done so much good. We enjoy them in health, stable economy, technological innovation and many more.