Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position

This issue raises a thought-provoking issue of whether we as human beings should progress or limit ourselves because of fear.

Indisputably, when we go out of our comfort zone we feel the fear. Nevertheless, it shouldn't be an obstacle when it comes to the development of society. Hence, I strongly agree that we shouldn't restrict ourselves because of these limitations and move forward.

First of all, human beings have always taken the risk to improve their life. To explain let's look at the evolution of the homo sapiens. During the times when we liked as monkeys on trees, we started making the life-changing decisions of whether to walk on land and venture into the unknown for food and other resources. Though it was a great risk to explore unknown territories such as other carnivorous animals, our ancestors took the risk and lead to what we are today.

Secondly, throughout history, humans have always strived for the betterment of their lives. The development of technology is one of the significant examples of that. To illustrate, Madam Curi who worked on radioactive materials sacrificed her life for the world. Her research has helped us to achieve many key inventions in medicine, X-rays being one of the examples. Other developments such as the invention of aircraft which was very dangerous in the early times. Later with the persistent efforts of the Wright Brothers today we can reach any corner of the world within a period of a day.

Admittedly, there are some demerits to this constant focus on improving our lives and making them more comfortable. People are busy with the hustle of day-to-day life and have less time for the family and for themselves. Parents are working leaving their children who pass their time on video games. Health is being compromised because of eating the ready-made food available in the supermarkets packed with chemicals. However, as a species, together we are making a progress in all the fields, where we never thought we could ever reach.

In conclusion, although there are some negative consequences of our constant struggle for the development and improvement of our lives, It will make the lives of people much better in the long run.