Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The writer makes a claim that educational institutions have a responsibility towards student to stop them from pursuing the field, in which they are not likely to succed. Author has made some unsupportive assertions without which his agrument is likely to fail. Therefore, I do not agree with writer that educational institutions have a responsibility to restrict the student towards pursuing any course of his/her choice.

First of all, writer has not mentioned any parameters on which it can be predicted that student is likely to fail. Without any certainity that the Institution's decision, regarding the student's future, is correct, it will be injustice to the student by restricting him to pursue the field of his interest. For example, a student who is equally talented in two feild, Maths and Arts, decided to pursue Arts, in this case his educational institution cannot predict that he is likely to fail in Arts as his marks in both the subject suggests that he will do equally good in both the fields. Clearly, this ambiguity in the decision making will in turn harm the student instead of benifiting him and thus, such restrictions should not be asserted by Institutions.

Furthermore, there are some incidents, where educational instutions have some idea about the fields that student have selected and have limited scope. There are high chances that future opputunities will dry up, in this case some people might argue, it is institution's place to disuade the student from pursuing those fields. For instance, in above citied example, university have some idea that government funding for major art courses will be scrapped off and by citing this reason, stops the student from taking Arts. Here, I would argue, even though institution have some idea about the future government funding, but still there are possibility that student will get some international funding or private scholarship and can succeed in future. Therefore, even though institutions having certain parameters on which they can disuade the student from taking a certain feild, there are chances, even though they might appear slim, that student will suceed in his field.

educational Instutions can ensure they provide correct guideline to Students, by asking for their preffered cources and enlightening them on the furture prospects. Morever, they can provide students with analysis, on which student can see for themselves, where do they stand in each of the their preffered field, and in which fields they are likely to succeed. even though, Student choose to persue the field which institution does not approve of, they should provide the student with all the support and coursed which will help student to succeed.

In conclusion, by disuading student from persuing their field of interest, without having fool-proof parameters of deciding their furture success, Institution may hamper their chances of actually student doing good in their field of interest. All intitutions can provide, is their support, guidences and neccessary councilling to ensure that student is on right path.