Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The issue brought into attention by the author is a classic case of casualty where he attributes the necessity of scandals to address certain issues pertaining to the society which a reformer often fails to notice and often brings in fresh perspective that is not quotidian to these reformers . This interpretation of author seems quite befitting to a greater extent as the scandals often uncover the deep secrets of the seemingly jolly politicians in the public forum which makes the public to reconsider their attitude and finally their decision in concern to the politician in question.

The scandals do certainly tarnish the image of the politician which hints one to the unhidden aspect of the governance which tenacious reformers do slip to notice . Such scandals at the same time do create a situation of turbulence in the working of the government which often shakes the economy and as a result many people indirectly get affected apart from the politician which is the negative aspect of these scandals . Various examples can be presented to elucidate the effectiveness of scandals in bring a major reform but these do come at a certain cost .

As an example of the 2G scam that surfaced in 2008 has certainly tarnished the image of the then prime minister Dr. Manmohan Singh but at the same time has brought the issue of hegemonised working of the government into light which made citizens to take an informed decision in the 2014 national elections . So in a similar way verious other scams like Coal Gate scams and VYAPAM scam have certainly made a positive impact in reforming the governance but such scams donot surface oftenly which even reformers at times tend to hide in an attempt to make personal gains .

A slighty different example pertaining to film industry, where various scandals of the renowned film actors has affected their money incurring aspect but at the same time has informed citizens to make wise choices pertaining to their own money as evident from the various scandals in Bollywood that surfaced the industry's connection with the under world has certainly hinted people to track upto the roots of the money they spend to watch these movies.

In concluding this essay , I would like to make a remark that the issue put forth by the author certainly has a concrete foundation which if backed by more prominent reasons can prove to be rock solid case to rasie an issue and get audience's vote.