The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery.

“The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.”

Discuss how well reasoned... etc.

The argument put forth by the author is a classic example of cause-effect misconstrue which has lot of leaking taps in between which are needed to be closed at least in order to strengthen the argument and base ii on firm foundations. Author's very claim of replacing the present purchase manager with a scientist seems flawed conspicuously as no scientist can prove a better choice when the faculty of concern is the economic outlook and other factors despite the knowledge of materials do play a large role in the process of decision making.

In the opening statement itself the claim made by the author that "the falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing " seems quite outrageous and bold in a sense that how can one say with certainty that the delays in manufacturing are only responsible for the decrease in the revenue of the company as many other factors can also contribute in this falling of revenues like for example it may also happen that the market being quite volatile is going on a down track in terms of economical transactions .Moreover,there can also be other reasons like a big shiftover in the underpinning technology that is being used in the company which is leading to lower revenues due lack of skilled labour .So quite a lot of factors need to be considered before making such a claim or otherwise such a claim should be adequately backed up by proper quantitative figures .Although the reason as put forth by the directors for the delay in manufacturing may be true and is quite convincing but again this cannot be the sole reason for delays in the manufacturing like for instance it may have been the case that due to some major accidents that has happened in the course of time ,the manufacturing is severly affected .So similary this this reasoning is quite lofty which needs to be backed up with proper evidences.

Even if at some point one is convinced with the above reasoning that the delays are due to lack of knowledge of metals then one can look for external consultancies rather than shifting the manager of the entire purchase department which certainly seems to be over-exaggeration of the issue from the director's side which needs to be addressed as soon as possible although the directors do accept the various qualities that the purchase manager has which often gives space to doubt the decision of directors to shift the manager despite of having such fruitful qualities and brings the argument into question that whether this shift is tuely required in order to increase the revenue of the firm which can be addressed if efforts are directed towards increasing the efficiency of production and capturing the market by understand the needs of the market .

In concluding this review of the argument, I would like to comment that the argument do severely lack certain grounds which if taken care of will lead to an argument that increases the present scenario of falling revenues for the company .