The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video

rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order

to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument as presented by the owner of the Movies Galore seems apt and justified at first glance but certain questions may arise when read thoroughly looking into each and every aspect of the argument which do lack in terms of quantitative figures that should be provided in order to make an informed decision. Moreover, the claim that some alternative solution that has successfully been implemented in one of the stores will certainly be valid for other stores as well straightforwardly disregards the opinions of the viewers.So all in all the argument stands on muddy grounds which can be fallen apart at any opportunity.

In the first statement itself the recent decline has been due to increased operating expenses as claimed by the owners may or may not actually be the case . It can happen that due to a new movie store in the town, the people are

starting to show less interest in this movie store as they are getting better deals in the other store and also much more diversity in genres. More importantly, the recent decrease in profits may not be reversed by reducing operating expenses as it contributes only a little portion of the budget and apparently a larger sum is spent on advertisements. But at the same time, the reasoning that raising of the rental prices may not be a viable solution as the company is famous for its special bargains which if reduced will certainly affect its market in an adverse fashion and will rather further deplete the profit than improving it.Moreover,the study as presented as a piece of evidence to take the decision is quite questionable because it consisted of only one store and the strategy employed to decrease the operating expenses certainly depends on the lifestyle of the people living in the locality which can adversely effect in certain scenarios.Also , the decision to qualify the stock by eliminating the movies released more than five years ago surely depends on the age group of the people that are long term customers in the store which may vary from store to store which further hinders to implement the strategy as presented by the owner .Lastly the reasoning that the strategy as discussed in the argument to be the only solution to increase the profits without hampering the reputation of the Movies Galore seems quite bold for which the adequate reasoning is not provided in the argument that needs to be taken care off otherwise can prove to be a reason to refute the argument .

So , in concluding this analysis of the argument which seems quite fleeky needs to be readdressed in order to strengthen the argument and present it as an effective solution to the situation that has been arrived in front of the company .