“School policies should be based as much on what employers want as well as what students and teachers want.”

With the fast-paced world and rapidly changing technology, it a tedious task to keep oneself up to date with all the things. And with encroaching recession and greater number of people than number of jobs, one not only needs to familiarise but also become a virtuoso of the new technologies to be still in demand. And how should a student know which is the right course for him or her to pursue what they dream of? For this students turn to the web of knowledge-the internet.

Internet provides all sorts of knowledge but the true source of information is rarely known and thus, separating legitimate information from spurious becomes difficult. Students try to find out what knowledge do they need before entering into the real-world turn to the internet. They are swarmed with information, thus making it a strenuous task for them to choose the right path for themselves. If schools could incorporate what employers want, students would be in a better state to achieve their goal.

Moreover, all the information is not always available on the internet. You could easily get information on what corporate employers want but not so easily on what one should know to work in a research labs? Research labs are already under pressure to produce results as they rely on results for their funding and then they have to spend time and money on research assistants to teach them how basic work around the lab is done before they can actually help around to produce fruitful results. If the students were taught before-hand the basic knowledge, such as how to conduct surveys and studies, they would need then they would be more beneficial to them. Therefore, if schools taught industry relevant things, students would be more lucrative to the employers as they would not need to expend funds to train them.

But schools should not get carried by the suggestions and requirements of the employers. Students also need their fundamental knowledge to apply what they have learnt in the real-world. Employers can get demanding would prefer to inculcate all their training in the school curriculum to get reduce their cost. But this would only distract the students from getting their basic knowledge and would add to the burden. School policies incorporating employers’ wants should also be in balance with students' and teachers' wishes as students who are going to learn and teachers are the ones who are going to teach. Teachers should wish to offer such courses and the students should be intrigued enough about those courses to enrol in those courses.

The students should not just learn the theoretical concepts but should also know how to correlate what they have studied with the real-world scenarios. In my opinion, school policies should incorporate knowledge that the employers think students should possess but also should keep in mind the students' and teachers' preference.