Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your rea

In my opinion, the discussion about whether schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities when school buildings are in need of repair should be considered in two situations. One situation is that if there are any other ways to get funding to repair school buildings rather than cutting the current funding for extracurricular activities. As we know, there are plenty of ways to get funding for schools. For example, the school could contact the alumni who already graduated to see if they may want to donate to help to maintain the place they used to play and gain knowledge at. Or the school could try to contact the community center or the local government to see if it is possible to get some funding from them. At the same time, the student organizations of the school could also host some donation activities, such as fetes, which encourage students to sell things that they have not been using for a while to someone who really needs them to help with the repairment of school buildings. By engaging students in funding raising would also benefit making responsibilities into practice for students.

Another situation is that there is no way to get funding from other resources rather than cutting the funding for extracurricular activities. Admittedly, extracurricular activities, like art, music are beneficial for students' holistic development, including physical, mental, and spiritual health. Lack of extracurricular activities may interfere with their social abilities, physical health, and in contract affect the performance in main curricular classes. However, the ill-maintained building is a safety hazard that will directly affect students' safety. With the considerations of actual needs, it is necessary the make the decision to use the funding for the extracurricular activities for building repairs. However, the students must be informed immediately since they are the people that would be most affected by any consequences. And it's essential to disclose it to students and their parents for any updates later on.

It will never be easy to make a straightforward decision regarding this circumstance because, after more consideration, it actually asks people to choose from the short-term effect versus the long-term effect on students' holistic health. The best scenario would be finding other resources of funding to repair the building rather than cutting the extracurricular activities in school as recommended in the first paragraph.