Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society s problems Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your

There is no doubt that science and technology has become part and parcel of our life and it is not possible to predict our life without technical devices. Most of the masses are of the view that science and technology is capable of replenishing all of the problems prevailing in our society. I strongly disagree to this viewpoint because I believe that although science has done lots of progress in our day to day life, but if delves deep inside then many of the problems in our society are caused by its advancement.

One reason for my belief is that with the advancement of technology it has also caused many harmful effects to our environment. To elucidate, many poisonous substances have been released into the environment in our day to day life which causes many serious effects like global warming and leads to hazardous diseases like cancer etc. For instance, many areas of world are facing the issue of drought and floods these days because of indifference created by these pollutants to our environment. Therefore, science and technology has created myriad number of problems to our nature.

On one hand, science and technology has made our life very easy and comfortable that anything can be done with a single click and it has made lots of development in various sectors like medical, education etc. On the other hand, its developments has also provided lots of harm to our society like the creation of nuclear bombs which causes lots of destruction in our lives. There are many instances in which the development of science and technology has put the life of Homo sapiens to risk. To exemplify, COVID 19 is one of the pandemic which is caused by the uneven developments of science and had caused destruction to the human lives in abundance. Thus, science and technology has caused large number of harmful effects to the human beings.

Perhaps, the overriding reason for my belief is that it has also created difference among the society especially between rich and poor and has risen up the crime in the society. Rich being capable of taking advantages of the advancements of science may turn from one technology to the other within a short period of time, while poor in contrast not able to afford these gadgets feel dejected and frustrated and as a consequence indulge in some offensive activities to have all these comforts. For example, according to a survey by Times of India, snatching activities have surged by about 70% person in past two years and most of the snatchers indulged are youth.

For all these reasons, I believe that even if science and technology is able to resolve many issues but at the same time it has become the cause of large number of problems of our society. Hence, there is a need to have appropriate use of these technologies to avoid their harmful effects.