Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Science has been described by many as the art of investigating a situation, circumstance or concept with a view to coming up with theories or hypothesis that shape our lives as humans. There have been several scientific discoveries to date, ranging from medicine, chemistry, physics, mechanics and so on. Of these scientific discoveries, there have been many proven and generally accepted ones; and there have also been those which one may consider inaccurate on careful investigation. However, the factual ones are commonplace.

To start with, in developing the hypothesis that a body will always be in a state of rest or of uniform motion unless compelled by an external force, Isaac Newton undertook several laboratory experiments. In our day-to-day lives, we observe that an object remains in a stationary position until we move it ourselves, or until it is displaced by wind, water, heat etc. While these forms a daily experience for all mankind, no one prior to Isaac Newton's theory, have come up to state it as an obvious fact. However, upon the founding of the theory by Newton, people were quick to give the theory a nod of approval, as it is relatable. Thus, this theory is today known as the first law of motion. It is a fact, one which has stood undisputed and not subject to any inaccuracy.

Secondly, the flight of inanimate bodies in the air is now commonplace in our world today. It took the impudence of the Wright Brothers, who in their attempt to change human incapacitation as regards transportation, went ahead to invent the airplane. In times past, no one could have imagined that an inanimate object of such size, magnitude and sophistication as the airplane can be suspended in the air without land support. People were held down by their beliefs that the only means of commuting is on land or water. It has however dawned on humans that the airplane would in fact be possible to move in the air, due to the revelation that birds also do same. Again the Wright Brothers' theory was one that the human race was able to accommodate and holistically believe because it could relate it with the flight of birds. Thus, initial skepticisms have been aborted.

Further, the principle of Archimedes, a scientist who propounded the theory of density is taught in schools today due to its undeniable truth. In fact, many research work today are founded on Archimedes' principle of bouyancy or density. The factual statement rose from the experience of the scientist when he had his bath and discovered that an object will remain on water if the object's density is lesser; or the object would sink if its density is greater than that of water. Hence, this is another example of how scientific theories which people can analyse and experience, cannot be proven to be inaccurate.

However, going by the numerous reports we receive today, one may be tempted to say that seeming accuracy of scientific theories should be accepted with caution. For instance, some scientists say red meat is not good for health as a result of some of their experiments. Other scientists have also commented that red meat is the best in terms of nutritional value. This leaves one in limbo, as to what to believe. Also, some say that things would soon begin to have a mind of their own - in what is called the Internet of Things (IoT). However, others opine that humans will always be in control of things. These unfounded theories may lead one to generalize that scientific theories are not altogether accurate.

In conclusion, one would likely agree that a theory is as accurate as experiential knowledge would prove. A factual theory is one that the average human would be able to relate with upon careful observation.