Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The best way to increase the organization productivity is by incorporating several ideas which will be benefited for the employees.

I completely agree that seniority should not only be the basis for employee compensation, instead it should be on the basis of their qualification and work performance.

Present generation, the organizations are keenly looking towards the company benefits, which can be achieved by fulfilling the needs of the employees. The best way to do this is by praising their work and giving employee compensations and these rules must be applicable to every employee of the organization.

By adopting this method in the organization, each and every employee will start giving his best to complete the given work on time expecting the promotion and merits. Ultimately the productivity of the organization will also increase. If the seniority is made the basis for the employee compensation then lot of people do not think of even perusing the graduation and directly join the organization which will affect the productivity of the company.

For instance if a company having a employee(manager) who is having around 15 years of work experience and a engineer having 5 years of experience doing the same work, then obviously company will look towards engineer to give him employee compensation than that of manager who will be earning more. Organization always look towards company benefits.

Thus, Work performance and merit should be the criteria for the promotion and employee compensation instead of seniority, by incorporating this organization will achieve sustainability in terms of financially and productivity.